The ITC-SA’s vision is to create and maintain the highest standards
in the engineered timber roofing industry in South Africa.

The ITC-SA has a well established national infrastructure. The Institute’s Head Office is situated in Johannesburg, Gauteng. There are branch structures in all nine provinces grouped into four regions each with its own Regional Coordinator.

The regions are:

  1. Gauteng Region
    Gauteng, Polokwane, Mpumalanga, North West, Limpopo, Free State and Northern Cape provinces.
  2. Kwazulu-Natal Region
    Kwazulu-Natal province.
  3. Western Cape Region
    Western Cape province excluding the southern Cape.
  4. Southern Cape and Eastern Cape Region
    Eastern Cape province and the southern part of the Western Cape province.

Key Points

The remit of the Institute for Timber Construction South Africa (ITC-SA) is to protect consumers and end-users by assuring the professional and legally compliant conduct of its members and thereby their services and products.

The members are proud to be associated with the ITC-SA because it is recognised to be the Professional Body or home for all timber roof truss engineers, designers, manufacturers, erectors and inspectors in the country.

The concept of Rational Design underpins the standards applied by the ITC-SA and its members.

Home and building owners are advised to please contact the ITC-SA if they observe timber truss manufacturing and erecting activities that may not comply with national, regional and local standards, regulations and requirements.

The role of the ITC-SA

The role of the ITC-SA is to ensure consumer protection in the use of timber engineered products in contracts entered into with the ITC-SA membership and to regulate the professional conduct of its members. Where prima facie evidence confirms professional misconduct, in order to protect the consumer and the reputation of the industry, the ITC-SA shall apply proper sanctions.

The ITC-SA has the full support of its members and recognition by the following key industry stakeholders in the development of industry norms and standards and in the mitigation of risks associated with the use of timber engineered products.

  • The National Home Builders Registration Council (NHBRC)
  • The National Regulator for Compulsory Specifications (NRCS)
  • The Department of Public Works (DPW)
  • The Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA)
  • The South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP)
  • The SA Council for the Quantity Surveying Profession (SACQSP)
  • The Banking Association of South Africa (BASA)
  • Agrément South Africa (ASA)
  • The South African Institution of Civil Engineering (SAICE) Structural Division (SSD)
  • The South African Bureau of Standards (SABS) in the Areas of Timber and Civil Engineering
  • South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)
  • Fibre Producing and Manufacturing SETA (FP&M SETA)
  • Construction SETA (CETA)
  • South African Technical Auditing Services (Pty Ltd.) (SATAS)
  • Sawmilling South Africa (SSA)
  • The South African Wood Preservers Association (SAWPA)

ITC-SA Membership Categories